A God Who Is Good

February 2, 2008

Fearfully Human answers the question, “Is God good? How do you know?”

 I’ve met the people who most have reason to believe God is not good; the poorest of the poor in places you’d swear God was absent. The poor in Haiti call Him “Bondieu” from two french words – Good, God – they do not reference God without referencing His goodness. It stuns me everytime I think about it, that the ones I would use as evidence against the goodness of God would testify against me, that He is good.

I believe that the Jesus I am told of in the narratives of the Bible points to a God who is not only good but present, who understands our pain, the darkness against which we kick, and His promises were not of a magic wand, but of a one-day-coming Kingdom that will right the wrong and quench the darkness, and that He would walk with us through the pain until then. I believe His birth, as God in the flesh, dignifies my physical existence, His life gives meaning to mine, His death paid a ransom for my soul, and His resurrection gave me hope for beyond the grave. I have nothing any empiricist would call proof – just faith. There’s something in the gospels that has a powerful ring of deepest truth – like it matches up with my deepest longings, reflects back to me with great accuracy not only who God must be, but how different He is from me. If I were writing the Bible I’d have made God more like me, the fact that it calls me to be something so much more has the stamp of divinity on it. I don’t even know that that makes sense, but it’s the best way I can express it.

The entire post is definitely worth the read.

One other thought I would add is that, if God is really not good, it seems very odd that humanity would go through thousands of years of religious searching and always assume that God was good. To borrow from C.S. Lewis, the idea that people would attribute such a painful existence to a beautiful, loving Creator is troubling, since, as Professor Lewis put it, “People are fools, perhaps, but hardly such fools as that.” Something therefore points deeper, into a human suspicion (that finds itself surfacing even in the most unlikely of places) that really all the pain and suffering was not how the world was meant to be, and there is Someone who plans (or perhaps already has in a way) to redeem it.

Leave a Reply

